NSW School and Council Funding Grants

The NSW Government has created a Before & After School Care Fund of $20 million dollars available to NSW schools and local councils to establish or expand outside school hours care (OSHC) services.

Who can apply?

  • Schools without an OSHC service
  • Schools with an existing OSHC service that have a need and capacity to expand their OHSC service
  • Local councils that have unmet demand for before and after school care

How much can be applied for?

  • Each eligible applicant can apply for a one-off grant of up to $30,000.

How can our school or council use this grant to purchase a Melwood structure?

  • The purchase of a Melwood storage structure would normally fall under the funding¬†expenditure category of ‘site modification and fit-out costs’.

How does our school or council apply for this grant?

  • Once your school has a quote from us, your school principals can complete an online application by visiting the Fund website at https://beforeandafterschoolcare.smartygrants.com.au
  • Local councils seeking a grant under the Fund will need to prepare a funding proposal for consideration by the cross-sectoral steering committee.

Where can we find more information about providing OSHC services?

  • Schools looking to establish a new OHSC service or expand an existing one should refer to NSW OSHC regulations. The Department of Education’s Community Use of School Facilities Policy¬†and its associated implementation procedures, including an online toolkit provide guidance to principals of government schools on establishing an OSHC service.
  • Local councils with a growing demand for OSHC services are encouraged to contact the NSW Department of Education on telephone 02 9244 5057 to discuss how the Fund could be used to assist their local community.

Who can we contact for further funding assistance?

Association of Independent Schools of NSW

  • Susan Wright

    Consultant: Government Education Policy
    Telephone: 02 9299 2845
    Email: swright@aisnsw.edu.au

  • Robyn Yates

    Assistant Deputy Executive Director
    Telephone: 02 9299 2845
    Email: ryates@aisnsw.edu.au

Catholic Education Commission NSW

  • Rosalie Nott

    Assistant Director
    Telephone: 02 9287 1560
    Email: rosalie.nott@cecnsw.catholic.edu.au

  • Karen Ferrante

    State Coordinator
    Telephone: 02 92871575
    Email: karen.ferrante@cecnsw.catholic.edu.au

NSW Department of Education

  • Elsa Lat

    Leader, Policy Coordination and Review
    Telephone: 02 9244 5057
    Email: elsa.lat@det.nsw.edu.au

  • Shane Joseph

    Planning and Reporting Coordinator
    Telephone: 02 9266 8173
    Email: shane.joseph@det.nsw.edu.au